# COLORADO SCHOOL OF MINES FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

January 26, 2010 - 2:00pm Hill Hall 300

ATTENDEES: Davis, Dorgan, Eberhart, Greivel, Miller, Sacks, Scales, Steele

**APOLOGIES:** Drewes, Griffiths, Hitzman, Martins, Voorhees

**GUESTS:** Steven Castillo – Provost

Alice Jensen – Faculty Senate Lara Medley – Registrar

Rambert Nahm - Representative, ASCSM

Candace Sulzbach – Engineering Craig W. Van Kirk – Petroleum

Eberhart, Senate President, called the meeting to order and welcomed the guests.

### **COMMENTS FROM GUESTS:**

- A. Sulzbach reported that the committee responsible for selecting candidates for the Senate Distinguished Lecture award consists of the three most recent recipients. The chair of the committee rotates between these three members. The committee requests nominations and also reviews nominations from past years. All members then vote and provide a list of candidates to the Senate. The Senate requested that the committee submit three candidates from which the Senate will then vote on a winner in a closed session.
- B. Castillo reported that he would like more Senate input on a variety of issues including the Vision Statement and future faculty hires. The Senate requested additional clerical support for Faculty as there has been an increase in required administrative documents. The Senate also suggested course relief for Senate officers. Castillo and the Senate agreed that the Senate should play a larger role in policy changes on campus.

**APPROVAL OF MINUTES:** The minutes from the January 12, 2010 Senate meeting were approved.

## **OLD BUSINESS:**

- A. Excellence in Research Awards Eberhart submitted a proposal regarding the creation of an "Excellence in Research Award" (ATTACHMENT A). It was proposed that a language change should be included stating that "no fewer than one" award be given out in a year. Sacks moved and Dorgan seconded a motion to approve the proposal. The **motion** passed unanimously. Eberhart will present the proposal to the Research Council.
- B. Changes to the Wording in the Handbook Eberhart reported that President Scoggins and Provost Castillo would need to support this effort to gain the required Board of Trustees approval. Eberhart and Sacks will meet with Wendy Harrison to see if any changes might be required, specifically regarding the changes to the "Principles of Academic Freedom" portion of the Faculty section.
- C. Prioritize Outstanding Issues The following topics need to be addressed this semester:
  1) report on joint appointments, 2) report on vision statement, 3) report on ethics across the curriculum, 4) policy on dead day, dead week, 5) restructure senate committees, 6) administrative faculty reviews, and 7) Faculty Senate president elect and elections.

#### **REPORTS:**

A. Faculty Oversight Committee on Sports and Athletics – Davis submitted the 21st Semi-Annual Report received from the Faculty Oversight Committee on Sports and Athletics as an information item.

### **ANNOUNCEMENTS:**

A. The next Senate meeting will take place on February 9, 2010 in Hill Hall room 300.

The meeting adjourned at 3:55 pm.

#### Attachment A

## The "Excellence in Research" Awards

The "Excellence in Research Awards" are established to recognize Colorado School of Mines (CSM) research active faculty members in all disciplines for their outstanding research accomplishments while at CSM. It is anticipated that two awards will be presented per academic year. Each award will consist of a plaque and a grant of \$5,000 to further research initiatives. The awards will be jointly sponsored by the Provost's and the VPRTT's offices.

Selection is made on the basis of the significance and quality of research and creative achievements. These include:

- Establishment of a thriving research program evidence for which might include: a strong publication record, invited conference presentations, national and international awards, and support of graduate and undergraduate research
- Outstanding research accomplishments that have received national and/or international recognition
- Enhancing the reputation of CSM through their research

A CSM faculty member or a CSM department, division or program can nominate candidates for the award by sending a letter summarizing in layperson's terms the nominee's research accomplishments while at CSM and the nominee's curriculum vitae to the University Research Council chair. A sub-committee of the council will select up to six candidates, for whom external letters of recommendation will be sought. For the selected candidates, the faculty member making the nomination will be asked to solicit external letters from three nationally and internationally recognized experts familiar with the nominee's research work. Up to two award recipients will be selected from the short-list by the full University Research Council and their names will be forwarded to the Senate for approval. The award(s) will be presented at the faculty conference at the beginning of the following academic year.

Nominations are to be received electronically by the University Research Council chair no later than March 1st, 2010 – Letters of recommendation, if applicable, no later than April 14th, 2010.