## COLORADO SCHOOL OF MINES FACULTY SENATE MINUTES February 23, 2010 - 2:00pm Hill Hall 300

ATTENDEES: Dorgan, Drewes, Eberhart, Greivel, Hitzman, Martins, Scales, Steele, Voorhees

- **APOLOGIES:** Davis, Griffiths, Miller, Sacks
- GUESTS: Lara Medley Registrar Rambert Nahm – Representative, ASCSM

Eberhart, Senate President, called the meeting to order and welcomed the guests.

## **COMMENTS FROM GUESTS:**

A. Medley submitted a report outlining the current dead week and dead day policies. Major issues with the current policy included whether or not final presentations, large final projects, quizzes, and new material being taught should be allowed during dead week. Regarding dead day it is unclear if optional review sessions, required review sessions, final presentations, or final projects can be required. It was decided that Greivel would review the policies of other universities and draft a new policy and submit it for the Senate's review by the May meeting.

## **APPROVAL OF MINUTES:**

The minutes from the January 26, 2010 Senate meeting were approved.

## OLD BUSINESS:

- A. Performance Reviews for Administrative Faculty Voorhees submitted a list of questions to be considered for use in performance reviews for administrative faculty. The questions were taken from past reviews and from suggested questions. Senators were asked to review the questions and report any desired changes to Voorhees. Eberhart will request email lists of faculty members from department heads.
- B. Changes to the Wording in the Handbook Regarding Academic Freedom Eberhart reported that concerns have been raised regarding the proposed language changes as it may allow faculty members too much freedom in the classroom. Eberhart, Anne Walker, Provost Castillo, and the Senate Executive Committee will meet to attempt to resolve these issues.
- C. Proposed Changes to Senate Bylaws Eberhart reported that future Senate Presidents would officially be allowed the release of one class per semester. A proposal allowing the President to also serve on the Board of Trustees was declined due to the increased time and work commitment that it would entail. The President's term will also be increased to two years in an attempt at continuity. Other issues related to the Senate Bylaws include mechanisms to remove a President, appoint temporary Senators, and streamline Senate Committees. Eberhart will email Senators an editable copy of the bylaws and requests them to review and edit them. A President Elect will be elected in the spring.
- D. Faculty Senate 2009 Distinguished Lecture Eberhart reported that David Muñoz would be giving this year's Distinguished Lecture tomorrow, February 24, in the Green Center.
- E. Discussion: Joint Appointments, Vision Statement, Ethics Across the Curriculum Eberhart reported that Provost Castillo has asked for the Senate's input on these topics. Eberhart will send drafts of these policies to Senators and asked for Senators to give him input for Castillo.

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

A. Posthumous Degree Award – This issue will be discussed at the next Senate meeting.

- B. American Federation of Teachers Dorgan reported that representatives from the American Federation of Teachers would attend the next Senate meeting. They will give a brief overview of their organization and possible benefits as members.
- C. Grade Appeal Language in Bulletin It was proposed that the wording regarding grade appeals in the student bulletins should more clearly outline the student's requirements to appeal a grade. Eberhart will draft a policy before the next meeting.
- D. Addition of Introduction to Computer Science to Distributed Science Scales moved and Drewes seconded a **motion** to approve the addition of the CSCI101 Introduction to Computer Science to the list of acceptable courses for the Distributed Science requirement. The motion passed (7 in favor, 2 opposed). It was noted that in the future classes added to the Distributed Science requirement should be equivalent in credit hours and difficulty and include a lab section if applicable. Eberhart will relate the Senate's opinion to Provost Castillo.
- E. A <u>resolution for Michael Nyikos</u> presented by Kent Voorhees was approved by the Senate. The resolution will be presented to Mrs. Nyikos.

## ANNOUNCEMENTS:

A. The next Senate meeting will take place on March 9, 2010 in Hill Hall room 300.

The meeting adjourned at 3:52 pm.

Colorado School of Mines Faculty Senate



# Resolution in memory of Michael S. Nyikos

BE IT RESOLVED that the Faculty Senate of the Colorado School of Mines note with profound sorrow the passing of their esteemed colleague and friend, Michael S. Nyikos, a long-time dedicated and active member of the Mines community, recalling with appreciation his service as Dean of Students (1979-1982) and Vice President of Student Affairs and External Relations (1982-1989); as a board member of the Colorado School of Mines Foundation (2006-2010); as a member of the Board of Trustees (2002-2010); and as Chairman of the Board of Trustees (2004-2010).

In all of these roles, Mike will be remembered first for his unwavering support of Mines students. As Vice President, his expertise in working with the state legislature was critical to the advancement of the School's reputation and mission. Mike was instrumental in securing state funding for the renovation of the School's academic buildings and for the development of its athletic facilities. Through the Mines Plan, Mike led the effort to secure tuition flexibility for the School, the first university in the state to do so. Under his leadership as Chairman of the Board of Trustees, the School implemented a comprehensive strategic plan and experienced a period of record enrollment and research growth.

The CSM Faculty Senate members honor the memory of his outstanding life of dedication, purpose and integrity, and his many contributions to the Colorado School of Mines; and extend sincere condolences to his wife Doris and his children Michele, Maureen, Chris and Steve and their families. He will be deeply missed by all his colleagues and friends at Colorado School of Mines.

Adopted by the Faculty Senate on February 23, 2010

President,

Colorado School of Mines Faculty Senate