# COLORADO SCHOOL OF MINES FACULTY SENATE MINUTES May 2, 2000 - 2:00 PM Coolbaugh House

- **ATTENDEES**: Ely, Griffiths, Kidnay, Klusman, Lu, Nickum, Ohno, E. Pang, Romberger, Underwood, and Wendlandt
- **APOLOGIES**: Readey and VanTyne
- VISITORS: VPAA John Trefny and Carin Lindloff, Director of Student Activities

# **COMMENTS FROM GUESTS:**

- A. Trefny
  - 1. A summary of the Fiscal Year 2000-01 CSM budget was distributed electronically to the department. The Board of Trustees received the proposed budget at their May meeting and will approve a budget at their June meeting.
  - 2. The Board of Trustees' retreat will focus on the development of the strategic plan for CSM.

**APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES**: The minutes of the April 18, 2000 Faculty Senate meeting were approved.

# APPROVAL OF THE MAY 2000 GRADUATION LISTS:

A. A **motion** made by Kidnay and seconded by Ely to approve the Undergraduate and Graduate lists as presented passed unanimously (Available in the Office for Academic Affairs). This vote reflected the absentee vote of VanTyne.

### OLD BUSINESS:

- A. <u>Senate Elections</u> Bob Frost, John Curtis and Dean Dickerhoof were elected to serve as Faculty Senior Senators. Bill Navidi was elected to serve as a Faculty Senator.
- B. Budget The proposed 2000-01 CSM Fiscal Year Budget was discussed.
- C. <u>Discussion of Response to Changes to Faculty Handbook Trefny addressed issues raised by the Faculty Affairs Committee and brought to the Senate at their April 4, 2000 meeting. Underwood reported that the faculty of the Mathematical and Computer Sciences Department voted unanimously that it is inappropriate for Librarians to vote on the Promotion Tenure Committee, but a Librarian could serve on this committee. E. Pang reported that the Division of Liberal Arts and International Studies desires that the Handbook Committee allow each division/department to write their own standards for promotion and tenure in their individual areas of expertise.</u>

### **NEW BUSINESS:**

A. Senate Distinguished Lecturer <u>Selection Committee</u> – A **motion** by Underwood and seconded by Klusman to accept Senate Distinguished Lecturer Selection Committee recommendation that Tom Furtak be appointed the Senate Distinguished Lecturer for 2000. The motion passed unanimously.

Romberger outlined procedural changes for this committee's operation as presented to him by Dave Matlock, chair of the 1999-2000 Senate Distinguished Lecturer Selection committee. The Committee recommended that it would be responsible for setting the time

and venue of the lecture and procure the plaque and gratuity for the Senate Distinguished Lecturer. The Committee would make a recommendation to the Faculty Senate for the appointment Senate Distinguished Lecturer for the Senate's approval. The Senate agreed to accept these changes.

The meeting adjourned at 3:05 PM