

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING & COMPUTATIONAL SCIENCES

2016-2017 FACULTY HONORS

AWARDS

Holly Eklund (AMS) - 2017 Martin Luther King Jr. Faculty Recognition Award

Vaughan Griffiths (CEE) - 2017 H. Bolton Seed Lecturer and Medal, ASCE Geo-Institute

Tissa Illangasekare (CEE) - Groundwater Prize, Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water

Robert Kee (ME) - Bernard Lewis Gold Medal, The Combustion Institute

Ning Lu (CEE) - ASCE Ralph B. Peck Award

Kate Smits (CEE) - Vadose Zone Journal Associate Editor Excellence Award

Aaron Stebner (ME), representing ADAPT - Genesis Award, JeffCo Economic Development Corporation 24th Annual Industry Appreciation Awards

Anne Silverman (ME) - 3M Young Faculty Investigator Award

RESEARCH/GRANTS

Hua Wang (CS) - NSF CAREER Award - machine-learning model for data mining; easier, earlier and less-costly detection of neurological diseases such as Alzheimer's or Parkinson's

Xiaoli Zhang (ME) - NSF CAREER Award - human-robot interaction teleoperations

Marte Gutierrez, Mike Mooney, Shiling Pei, Panos Kiousis (CEE) - \$7.5 million, 5-year grant from U.S. DOT - establish a University Transportation Center (UTC), focused on improving the durability and lifespan of underground transportation

Cecilia Diniz Behn (AMS) - part of a \$2.9 million NIH grant - study the sensitivity of the circadian system to varying intensities of morning and evening light in preschool-age children

Terri Hogue, John McCray, Chris Higgins (CEE) - \$2.6 million from EPA National Priorities Program - innovative, cost-effective technologies to manage stormwater runoff and combined sewer overflows

Mark Deinert (ME) - part of \$2.1 million DOE grant - develop intuitive web-based tool to compare different energy generation options by cost, carbon intensity, resource use, capacity and reliability

John McCray and Kathryn Lowe (CEE) - \$2 million CHECRA award - supplement to ReNUWIt

Aaron Stebner, Brandon Kappes (ME) - \$2 million from Manufacturer's Edge - 3D characterization of additive manufactured materials

Aaron Stebner, Cristian Ciobanu (ME) - \$1.6 million NSF grant - improve design of soft magnetic materials; increase efficiency of electrical systems

Tzahi Cath (CEE) - \$1.5 million from DOE Geothermal Technologies Office - membrane distillation desalination of impaired water using low-grade heat from geothermal power plants

Chris Higgins (CEE) - \$1.5 million from the DoD Strategic Environmental Research and Development Program - investigate how highly-fluorinated organic chemicals are released, travel and react to other contaminants

Shilling Pei (CEE) - \$1.5 million from NSF - seismic design methodology for tall wood buildings

Tzahi Cath (CEE), Tracy Camp (CS), Salman Mohagheghi (EE) - \$960K from NSF - innovative monitoring and control system for small wastewater treatment facilities

Timothy Strathmann, Chris Bellona, Chris Higgins (CEE) - \$898,147 from Air Force Civil Engineer Center - design field demonstration of the technology for treating water contaminated with perfluorochemicals

Qi Han (CS) - 3-year \$750K NSF grant to improve communications in underground mines

Tracy Camp (CS), Greg Jackson (ME), Deb Lasich - \$650K NSF grant - 'Path Ambassadors to High Success': attract low-income academically talented students from CO to study CS at Mines

PROFESSIONAL SOCIETY FELLOWS

Linda Figueroa (CEE) - Fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineering

Ning Lu (CEE) - Fellow of the Engineering Mechanics Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers

John McCray (CEE) - 2016 member, ASCE Environmental and Water Resource Institute Fellows

Cathy Skokan (EE) - Fellow of the American Society for Engineering Education

LEADERSHIP

Tissa Illangasekare (CEE) - 4-year term on Nuclear Radiation Studies Board, appointed by President of National Academy of Sciences

Tissa Illangasekare (CEE) InterPore President for 2017-2018

Tissa Illangasekare (CEE) - U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Board, appointed by President Barack Obama

Greg Fasshauer (AMS) - Co-organizer, 15th International Conference in Approximation Theory

Steve Pankavich (AMS) – Treasurer, SIAM Central States Section

NOTED PAPERS & PUBLICATIONS

Atef Elsherbeni (EE) - co-author of book, Adjoint Sensitivity Analysis of High Frequency Structures with MATLAB®

Atef Elsherbeni and Payam Nayeri (EE) - coauthors of a book, Analysis and Design of Transmitarray Antennas

Kristoph Kinzli (CEE) - 2017 ASCE EWRI Honorable Mention Paper Award, "Validation of a Decision Support System for Improving Irrigation System Performance", Journal of Irrigation and Drainage Engineering

> Hao Zhang and Hua Wang (CS) - Best Paper Finalist, Robotics: Science and Systems Conference

PROMOTIONS

Deb Carney (AMS) - Teaching Full Professor

Ventzi Karaivanov (ME) - Teaching Full Professor

Salman Mohagheghi (EE) - Associate Professor with Tenure

Michael Nicholas (AMS) - Teaching Full Professor

Stephen Pankavich (AMS) - Associate Professor with Tenure

Susan Reynolds (CEE) - Teaching Full Professor

Anne Silverman (ME) - Associate Professor with Tenure

Marcelo Simoes (EE) - Full Professor

Becky Swanson (AMS) - Teaching Full Professor

KEYNOTE & PLENARY LECTURES

Tracy Camp (CS) - Keynote Address, Jefferson County International Women's Day Luncheon

Greg Fasshauer (AMS) - Plenary Speaker, 2016 Curves and Surfaces Conference

Mahadevan Ganesh (AMS) - "Efficient Computational Algorithms for Simulating Wave Propagation", Pontificia Universidad Catulica de Chile in Santiago, Chile

Vaughan Griffiths (CEE) - "Cross Canada Lecturer", Canadian Geotechnical Society

Greg Jackson (ME) – Keynote Address, Chemference 2016 National Conference on Chemical Processing

Bob Kee (ME) - Plenary Lecture, "Catalytic Processes for the Conversion of Natural Gas to Logistic Fuels and Chemicals", International Combustion Symposium

Kamini Singha (CEE) - 2017 Darcy Lecturer, National Groundwater Research and Educational Foundation

Aaron Stebner (ME) – Keynote Speaker, "Hysteresis, Avalanches, and Interfaces in Solid Phase Transformations," Mathematical Institute in Oxford, UK