Dr. Atef Elsherbeni
Dis nguished Professor and Electrical Engineering Department Head
Colorado School of Mines

Isoflux Antenna Design for Cubesats
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Brown Hall W210, 3:30— 4:30 PM
Abstract —The op miza on and design process for an isoflux phased array for Cubesats in low earth or-
bit (LEO) is presented. A gene c algorithm is used to create a mul -ring concentric circular phased array
that creates a near-isoflux power pa ern on the Earth surface. At high opera ng frequencies, the array is
small enough to fit on the 1U face of a Cubesat. Simple microstrip patch antennas are used for the array
design for proof of concept, with full wave simula on demonstra ng the array performance.
Bio — Atef Z. Elsherbeni received his Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from Manitoba University,
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, in 1987. Dr. Elsherbeni was with the University of Mississippi from 1987 to
2013. He was a Finland Dis nguished professor from 2009 to 2011. He joined the Electrical Engineering
and Computer Science Department at Colorado School of Mines in August 2013 as the Dobelman Dis n-
guished Chair Professor. Currently he is the Head of the Electrical Engineering Department. His research
interest includes the sca ering and diffrac on of EM waves, finite-difference me-domain analysis of an-
tennas and microwave devices, field visualiza on and so ware development for EM educa on, interac-
ons of electromagne c waves with the human body, RFID and sensor integrated FRID systems, reflector
and printed antennas and antenna arrays, and measurement of antenna characteris cs and material
proper es. His academic achievements includes: Funded Research Grants with a total amount
of $11,413,903, 13 books, 29 book chapters, 171 journal publica ons, 15 developed so ware packages,
56 (35 MS and 21 PhD) graduate students advised, 40 invited presenta ons, 221 proceedings publica-
ons, 174 conference abstracts, 74 technical reports, 35 short courses offered, 43 invited talks. Dr. Elsh-
erbeni is a Fellow member of IEEE and ACES. He is the Editor-in-Chief for ACES Journal. He was the gen-
eral Chair for the 2014 APS-URSI Symposium and was the president of ACES Society from 2013 to 2015.