Catalyzing Innovation in PV Manufacturing

An NSF Workshop

May 6-7th, 2010

Golden, CO

Workshop Host:

Acknowledgements: NSF Award CBET-1027337

PI: Colin Wolden; Co-PIs: Sumit Agarwal, Reuben Collins, P. Craig Taylor, Kim Williams

Photos Courtesy of Angus Rockett

                 Final Program & Report                  

List of Participants           

Thursday, May 6th:  Golden Hotel Ballroom - Photos -  Day 1 

7:30 am                                                Breakfast

8:30 am                                                Official Welcome, Dr. Colin Wolden, CSM: Workshop Organizer

                                                                Workshop Overview

                                                                Dr. John Poate, VP of Research and Technology Transfer at CSM


                                                                Dr. Ryne Raffaelle, Director, National Center for Photovoltaics

Overview of the National Center for Photovoltaics


8:45 am - 9:15 am                            Overview of NSF Programs

Dr. Greg Rorrer, Program Director: Energy for Sustainability

NSF Investments for Solar Photovoltaics in the Engineering Directorate

Dr. Grace Wang, Program Director: SBIR/STTR

Overview of Photovoltaics Thrusts through the SBIR/STTR Programs at NSF

Dr. Carol Bessel, Program Director: Energy for Sustainability

NSF Investments for Solar Photovoltaics in the Mathematical & Physical Sciences


9:30 am - Noon                                 Session I - Inorganic Photovoltaic Manufacturing

Moderator/Facilitator: Dr. Angus Rockett, University of Illinois

                                                                Dr. Ingrid Repins,  National R enewable Energy Laboratory  

                                                                Research Challenges for CIGS and CdTe

Dr. Markus Beck, First Solar

                                                                Manufacturing Challenges facing CdTe and CIGS  

                                                                Coffee Break / Networking 


                                                                Dr. Chandan Das, University of Delaware

Critical Issues in Thin Film Si 

Dr. Juanita Kurtin,  Spectrawatt

Advanced Photon Management

Dr. Andrew Gabor, 1366 Technologies

In Defense of Silicon


                                                                Facilitated Discussion: Session I Highlights and Discussion Summary  


Noon- 1 pm                                      Lunch on Patio



1 pm - 3 pm                                        Session II - OPV/DSC Manufacturing

                                                                Moderator/Facilitator:  Dr. Eitan Ziera, Konarka

Dr. Sean Shaheen, University of Denver

Research and Development Issues for Organic Photovoltaics

Dr. Darin Laird, Plextronics

Printed Organic Solar Cells: Pathway and Challenges to Competitive LCOE

                                                                Dr. Jason Baxter, Drexel University

Dye Sensitized Solar Cells: R&D Issues

Facilitated Discussion: Session II Highlights and Discussion Summary

3:00 pm - 3:30 pm                            Coffee Break / Networking

3:30 pm - 5:30 pm                            Session III - Partnerships for Innovation

Moderator/Facilitator:  Dr. Martha Symko-Davies (NREL) Moderator

Dr. John Torvik, Novus Energy Partners

Photovoltaics from a VC Perspective

                                                                Dr. Harin Ullal, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

                                                                National R&D Thin Film Photovoltaic Teams: A Success Story

                                                                Dr. Tom Smerdon, University of Colorado

Effective Intellectual Property Management

Dr. Robert Collins, University of Toledo

Overview of the Wright Center for PV Innovation & Commercialization (PVIC)


Facilitated Discussion: Session III Highlights and Discussion Summary

6:00 pm                                                Reception, Golden Hotel Vista Room  

6:30 pm                                                Workshop Banquet, Golden Hotel Vista Room

Dinner Speaker:  Dr. Brian Murphy, Fulcrum Technologies

Solar Photovoltaics: An Industry in Transition

Friday, May 6th:  Hill Hall, Colorado School of Mines - Photos - Day2

8:00 am                                                Breakfast


8:30 am - 10:30                                 Session IV - Scaleup to TW/yr Production

Moderator/Facilitator: Dr. Colin Wolden, Colorado School of Mines

                                                                Dr. Eray Aydil, University of Minnesota

                                                                Materials Availability for TW Deployment

                                                                Dr. Vasilis Fthenakis, Columbia University/ Brookhaven national laboratory

                                                                Life Cycle Analysis for PV  

                                                                Dr. Peter Hacke, NREL

                                                                Research Opportunities in Reliability Science

Facilitated Discussion: Session IV Highlights and Discussion Summary  


10:30 am - 11 am                              Coffee Break / Networking


11:00 am - 1 pm                                Panel Discussion, Scientific Workforce Development

                                                                Wrap Up and Next Steps: NSF / CSM

                                                                Working Lunch Provided

Facilitated Discussion: Session V Highlights and Discussion Summary


1:00 pm                                                Workshop Concludes: Optional Tour of NREL / CSM REMRSEC / Depart for Airport